Statement lamps or not?

Form or functionality?  I think I’m more of a functionality person where lighting is concerned, but now and then I come across lamps that make me go ‘I want!’ before reality kicks in.

Here are a few lamps that had that effect:

1. Artemide Mercury Soffitto

P.S. I love ‘Cloud Gate’ by Anish Kapoor located in Millennium Park, Chicago, so no surprise that Mercury made my heart jump.

.

2. Flos 2097/50 Chandelier by Gino Sarfatti

This FLOS model is over 50 years old, which shows how timeless it is.  Can I imagine maintaining all the bulbs? Erm, no…

.

3. Foscarini Caboche

Reminds me of those french crystals that I used to like so much.

.

4. Ingo Maurer Birds Birds Birds

Yet another whimsical light that makes me smile.  Practicality wise tho…

.

5. Louis Poulsen Artichoke Pendant

Another oldie that was designed by Poul Henningsen in 1958.

.

6. Mooi Raimond

LED and marketed as “looking at the lamp feels like staring into the soft glow of a starry night”…

.

You may wonder why the Arco lamp is not here? Well… I don’t quite see it in my house.  Think could be cos too many people have the replicas? 😛

