Why do some sales people follow you around like lost puppies?

Visited a furniture store today for all of 10 seconds… the exchange went something like this:

sales: How can I help you?

me: It’s ok, we’ll like to have a look around the store (by) ourselves.

sales: We have to follow you around the store.  It’s the company policy.

me: Ok, forget it.

Ok, so maybe I could have asked/bargained not to be followed around, but she (the sales person) seemed quite determined to follow us around for the entire duration.  Don’t retailers understand that shopping is a pleasurable experience to be enjoyed under stress-free environment? 

Not sure if it’s a hard-sell tactic or some mis-guided attempt at good customer service, but seriously, it’s a total turn-off for me.

Think some of my best furniture shopping experiences so far are at stores that don’t bug me (and I do end up buying stuff from them!).  

And the said store that has entered my blacklist?  Silver River – so much for yet another attempt at buying budget furnishings… 😦

2 thoughts on “Why do some sales people follow you around like lost puppies?

Your thoughts? Let me know!

