5 reasons why I need to go back to Hong Kong

Since my recent trips to Hong Kong have been super hectic (hey, I am there to work after all), I think I may need to go back to Hong Kong to check out these stores. The awful pollution is quite a deterrent but… if I am mostly indoors (shopping) the pollution shouldn’t really affect me right? =P

I’ve only listed some of the stores I am interested in below, but I think there are many nice stores/brands in Hong Kong that we don’t have in Singapore like Reiss, Izzue, BALS TOKYO, LOG-ON and even J.Crew come Oct’12. There is also this guide to shoes for ‘bigfoot’ that I need to check out.  Hmm… even the mahjong sets are supposed to be of better quality in Hong Kong (get  a new set for your place if you don’t have one, used sets can be bad luck!)… and while you probably can’t cart furniture back, you can always window shop at Aluminium & Innermost.

Anyway, here are the 5 reasons why I need to go back to Hong Kong for some retail therapy. Can anyone recommend a conveniently located serviced apartment (not hotel!) to rent when I am in Hong Kong?  And if you have any other recommended stores to visit, do let me know via the comments section k?

p.s. Trip to Paragon confirms that Anteprima is way cheaper in Hong Kong too…

1. COS

No idea how long we have to wait for a COS (Collection of Style) store to open in Singapore, but in the meantime the Hong Kong store is the closest in Asia. Really love the minimalist style and relatively affordable clothes. Perhaps I am just getting old, but H&M style doesn’t excite me any more (so teenagerish!)… plus I’ll rather spend my money on clothes that are of decent quality (i.e. good for more than a few washes unlike some of those t-shirts that I spot…). If you have not heard about COS, it is a brand under the H&M group.  More like the grown up sister brand of H&M I guess. If you like clothes by Anteprima & Giordano Ladies (monochromatic minimalist style), you’ll love COS.

Queen’s Place, 74 Queen’s Road, Central (near where H&M Central (future Zara) is located)

Mon-Sat 10:30am-9:30pm;Sun 10:30am-8pm (ALERT! Closes early on Sunday!)

www.cosstores.com

.

2. Marimekko

Perhaps I will finally get some fabric to frame up in my living room… the pics I found look fab and I wished I had the time to pop by when I was in Hong Kong.

G/F, 42 Leighton Rd., Causeway Bay

Sun-Thu 11am-9pm; Fri-Sat 11am-10pm

http://www.marimekko.com

.

3. Goods of Desire

Even tho we now have a Goods of Desire (aka G.O.D) store in Singapore, I guess nothing beats going to the Hong Kong flagship store to check out the offerings for a nice local souvenir.

Leighton Centre, Sharp Street, East Entrance, Causeway Bay (Flagship)

Daily: 12:00 noon – 10:00 pm

http://www.god.com.hk

.

4. The Monocle Shop Hong Kong

The Monocle Shop Hong Kong is located in the Star Street area of Wanchai. The stuff seem really cool (but expensive!).  Even if you don’t plan to get anything from the shop, the Sun/Moon/Star Streets seem to be worth a visit.

Shop 1, Bo Fung Mansion, 1-4 St. Francis Yard, Wanchai

Mon-Fri 11.00-19.00, Sat 12.00-20.00, Sun 12.00-18.00 (ALERT! Closes early weekdays AND Sunday!)

https://shop.monocle.com

.

5. Homeless

For fans of Fred, Suck UK, Kikkerland and all those interesting DIY lamps that you can’t find in Singapore. See the gallery of pics to understand what I mean (erm, pardon the blurry snaps, my hubby is right to condemn my iPhone photography skills, I really need OIS – optical image stabilisation functionality). Love love the store, and the surrounding stores and eateries of the Flagship Gough Street store are way cool too.  Very yuppish. Bought loads of stuff.

28 & 29 Gough Street, Central

Mon-Sat 11:30am-9:30pm;Sun 12noon-8pm (ALERT! Closes early on Sunday!)

L8, The One, 100 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui

Sun-Thu 12noon-10pm; Fri-Sat 12noon-10.30pm

http://www.homeless.hk (there are a few other stores in Hong Kong, you can check out the collections via the website too)

Your thoughts? Let me know!

